Home > Miscellaneous > A Personal Note: On The Agonies Of The Male Mind

A Personal Note: On The Agonies Of The Male Mind

Here is a problem: how is it possible for someone to be so rational and intellectually competent and yet be so utterly incompetent in another area of importance, namely, girls?

Many a man has written sonnets about this particular phenomenon and I find myself right along with them. All rationality and competence of any kind breaks down amidst those damn goddesses of temptation. Oh how my life truly makes no sense.

It's like, she's fucking right there, say something you confident-lacking piece of shit. But no, never, not a chance. No, seriously, like no chance in hell. I should, yes, any rational soul would agree. But no, no level of intellectual capacity can help me here. This is an entirely different world.

Of course this problem is nothing new for me. But I always thought as I aged the problem would fade…but no, fucking no.

And yes, this is probably the most personal-public post I have ever written or ever will write. So take joy in it you few who read this damn blog. And, of course, any advice or keen insights would be appreciated…no really, very much appreciated, regardless of whether or not I've heard it before.

Read and post comments

Categories: Miscellaneous
  1. 09/11/2008 at 4:18 pm

    You know, if you want advice, we might need more details.Just sayin.

  2. 09/11/2008 at 6:30 pm

    You would love that, wouldn't you. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I suppose I could. I could definitely use some sort of therapy-advice session.

    Email seems like a better medium for that though.

  3. 09/14/2008 at 3:40 pm

    Naw man, post details here. I'll see what advice I can give, although I probably can't give much. I have problems with girls as well, mainly because I'm just not really looking atm.

  4. Ben
    09/15/2008 at 10:27 am

    No Worries man. I was the same way (and yes probably still am, although I have no need to get worked up over girls, seeing as how I'm already in a relationship). I don't think by analyzing yourself your going to make things easier, though. It'll just mess you up. But I can definitely understand the frustration. You really need a conversation starter (obviously) to get things rolling and then it gets easier. Other times you just have to be patient. Life has its own unique way of working things out for you, if you have the patience. So don't get discouraged if you think you missed an opportunity. The best thing to do as far as talking to girls is relax and try to have the assurance that it doesn't matter either way if things develop or not. Indifference has its own peculiar confidence which seems to work, in my experience. I know thats rather hard when said women is beautiful beyond words, but you know how to pretend right?Anyways, it's sort of like jumping into water when you know its as cold as hell. It takes a lot of courage to get in, but once you're in, you get comfortable and float along nicely.

  5. Ben
    09/15/2008 at 10:32 am

    Oh also, I've found that by asking a lot of questions helps and gives you more ammunition for conversation. Just think of it as the "Socratic Method Applied to The Female Sex"….or something like that ๐Ÿ˜‰

  6. 09/15/2008 at 11:09 am

    yeah, i was thinking what Ben said, about being (or seeming) indifferent. it's much easier to respond to something casual, than to be put on the spot. keep a certain amount of mystery, so it gives her some reason to follow.(more, later, in a PM. just wanted to second Ben's statement.)

  7. 09/16/2008 at 5:13 am

    Yeah, I have been thinking about the "indifference attitude" (or "fuck it attitude" as I like to call it) as of late. If I can adopt it, I think that would help a lot. I've never been the best pretender though, heh. I guess we shall have to see.Thanks for the advice. I love the "jumping into water" analogy and the Socratic suggestion. ๐Ÿ™‚

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

